All About the Apps
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Got change? Spend a half day on-line with apps visionaries and experts for winning insights in ALM

KellyEmo ‎08-27-2013 01:59 PM - edited ‎09-18-2015 03:28 PM

It sounds cliché but change is everywhere in IT and  it is impacting application development teams across the globe. We have a constant proliferation of new and “better” technologies. We have new best practices and approaches to methodology and application lifecycle management.  We have innovations in organizational structure, leadership and management, and macro and micro-economic changes impacting business demand and even the mindset and sentiment of your consumers and stakeholders.





I love the game of poker and they say the best poker players are able to change their style of play to affect the best outcome.  Granted there is always variance, but if you play the optimal game, you will win more often than not.  Effectively leading, managing and delivering applications feels a lot like playing poker. Having a mastery of the application lifecycle management process and having the ability to change it up when needed is essential. 


The ability to adjust to a rapidly changing set of business demands will set you up for success. That’s not to say that the occasional defect won’t slip out to production or a key resource won't get caught with the flu and impact schedule, but the odds will definitely be in your favor.





How do we develop a mindset and culture that is favorable to change?  What are some of the best practices that successful applications teams are putting to work for them now that will continue to work for them looking forward? What are some of the emerging best practices that your teams can take advantage of to deliver high quality applications faster than ever before?  Spend a half day with HP Software as we engage visionaries, analysts and successful practitioners in discussing the key areas of change that application's teams face today and the creative and effective application of these changes for powerful results.


They say you have to take time to make time…


Take a small break from your daily schedule, listen in and join the conversation.  Here’s what you’ll see and hear at the Power to Change virtual conference:


Opening keynote: Harnessing change, empowering IT Host Matt Morgan, Vice President of HP Software, will interview Daniel Spurling, Director, Infrastructure Engineering and Operations at T-Mobile. This session will offer insight and real-world perspectives on the strategies and tactics you can leverage to capitalize on change.


Apps session #1:  The user is the center: Applications in the world of engagement Matt Morgan, Vice President, Product Marketing, HP Software and Maribel Lopez, Principal and Founder of Lopez Research, discuss how user centricity is driving change in ALM and forcing app teams to rethink development cycles and support.


Apps session #2:  Mobile is on fire—don’t let your apps get burned Our panel of mobile development experts - including Nationwide, SunTrust and HP IT - share key learnings and best practices for developing mobile enterprise apps.


Apps session #3:  Enable enterprise agility by managing feedback loops Agile methods promise more than just improving how your development team works. This session describes how to automate key feedback loops throughout the software supply chain for increased agility.


Apps session #4:  Test without writing a single line of code…really Hear how Turnkey Solutions is helping Iron Mountain increase the speed and effectiveness of its packaged apps testing projects. The result is reduced test-automation development and maintenance costs.


Closing keynote: Change in IT: What we’ve learned, what to expect Executives from HP Software, T-Mobile and United Airlines offer their predictions on the future of change in IT and advice on how to make change part of your IT strategy.


This event is free of charge and you can participate from your home or office. 


Reserve your seat today for the Power to Change virtual event.


Event dates and times:


September 10, 2013 - Americas event 9am PT/11am CT/12pm ET/4pm GMT/5pm (London) BST


October 1, 2013 - EMEA event 8am GMT / 9am (London) BST / 10am CEST




About the Author


Kelly has over 20 years experience with enterprise systems and software in individual contributor and manager roles across product management, business development and product marketing. A majority of my focus has been in areas directly related to applications spanning from developer environments, enterprise Java, integration middleware, SOA infrastructure, SOA Governance and now application lifecycle management. Kelly has a B.S. in Computer Science from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo and an MBA from the University of Santa Clara.

Leave a Comment

We encourage you to share your comments on this post. Comments are moderated and will be reviewed
and posted as promptly as possible during regular business hours

To ensure your comment is published, be sure to follow the Community Guidelines.

Be sure to enter a unique name. You can't reuse a name that's already in use.
Be sure to enter a unique email address. You can't reuse an email address that's already in use.
Type the characters you see in the picture above.Type the words you hear.
1-3 December 2015
Discover 2015 London
Discover 2015 in London, the ultimate showcase technology event for business and IT professionals to learn, connect, and grow.
Read more
November 2015
Software Online Expert Days
Join us online to talk directly with our Software experts.
Read more
View all