Business Recovery Planning
1753292 Members
6446 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Seeking arguments against "Production" and "Test/Dev" environments on same server

Matt Powell
Occasional Advisor

Seeking arguments against "Production" and "Test/Dev" environments on same server

Greetings,

This is not a 'technical' question particularly, however the answer(s) may involve technical issues and a robust, readily available set of answers might be helpful to this community.

Presently I am a UNIX admin in a truely heterogeneous large "non-profit" healthcare IS environment. HPUX, AIX, OpenVMS, Tru64, AS/400, Linux, and of course NT/2000/Novell.

Many of our more complex, enterprise scale applications require test/development environments as part of the ongoing support of the application over the product life-cycle.

In some cases we have dedicated test/dev servers. Increasingly however, turnkey solutions providers are peddling to the non-technical decision makers, the notion of hosting the "test" and "production" environments of their products on the same servers.

It is my opinion that it is generally poor practice to have test/development environments co-exist with critical production enviroments on production servers. Although there are exceptions to every rule, I maintain that from the standpoint of system integrity, the risks generally far outweigh the perceived benefits.

My position on this topic has resulted in numerous heated debates with non-technical IS management.

I would like to solicite feedback from this group on this topic.

Are there well-reasoned arguments for/against this practice? Is anyone aware of 'best practice' standards ( SAGE, ISO, ISSA, IEEE, etc) that address this particular issue? Are there whitepapers, articles, or other documents people are aware of that address this issue?

I have been somewhat unsuccessful finding existing literature on this, so our discussion here might be particularly valuable.

Thank you,

Matt Powell