108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Sql Developer

SOLVED
Go to solution
Teriyaki1973
Visitor

Sql Developer

Ok I am very new to this so bear with me.

I have recently been given access to a server with HP-UX 11i v3 installed on it. I am supposed to be developing a database which is to go on this server. Oracle has been installed on the server by someone else as I have little unix experience. I had tried to run sqlplus and this works ok. However when I try to run sqldeveloper by typing

$ sh sqldeveloper.sh

I receive the message

sqldeveloper.sh[2]: bash: not found

I think I am receiving this message because sqldeveloper requires the bash shell to open. It doesn't appear that the bash shell is installed on this server. Is it possible to open sqldeveloper using the Bourne shell only? If so how do I do it.

9 REPLIES 9
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Sql Developer

>Is it possible to open sqldeveloper using the Bourne shell only?

(This is HP-UX, not Windows, you don't open scripts, you run, invoke or execute them.)

What does your script look like?  What are your first few lines?

Also, since this is HP-UX, Bourne shell is long gone.  There's the Posix shell, sh and ksh.

Teriyaki1973
Visitor

Hi thanks for your reply. The script is:-

#!bin/bash

cd "'dirname $0'"/sqldeveloper/bin && bash sqldeveloper $*

I am guessing that the first bit is trying to invoke the bash shell and the second part is trying to invoke sqldeveloper using the bash shell?

Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

>The script is:

You should change this to use the posix shell:

#!/bin/sh

cd "$(dirname $0)"/sqldeveloper/bin && ./sqldeveloper "$@"

>I am guessing that the first bit is trying to invoke the bash shell and the second part is trying to invoke sqldeveloper using the bash shell?

Yes.  If sqldeveloper is a binary, no need to use bash at all.

Teriyaki1973
Visitor