108787 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Work related B#B#B#B#B#B#B#B#B#B#B#B# $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Justo Exposito
Esteemed Contributor

Hi Paula,

Thanks for your reply in Spanish.

I work for a services company and our client in this moment is Axa Insurances, this client is starting in production a Call-Center with a Cluster and 24x7x365 environment. At the moment they not need people that must work out of the normal timetable.

The only thing that I want to tell you is that your work is very hard, in the past I was in a job with similar conditions and I change to other company.

For me is more important my life that my work, and I want to work enough, earn money enough and live.

Best Regards,

Justo.
Help is a Beatiful word
Volker Borowski
Honored Contributor

Hi Paula,

as a consultant I have been on call for diffrent companies in diffrent environments.

From that experience, I found, that you can have several very stable systems, where you get one call a week, and that you have environments, where anything gets wrong all the time, depending on
- the number of machines involved
- the state of the application
- the stupidness of users
- the age of the hardware

Now if you operate one system that most likely has trouble at 02:00am, I think being "on call" is a harder job, than beining on call for 20 servers that usually do a good job.

From real life I know diffrent payment approaches:
1) 20 EUR for a weekdays night, 30 EUR for a weekends night (on call) + another 20 EUR for the first real call + regular payment for working time in this period.
2) 30% of hourly rate for each hour being on call (this was a large production environment in the car-industry).
3) 50 EUR netto-compensation for each weekday being on call 75 EUR for a weekends day (24 hours). [This was the best I ever managed to bill, because it was in a very stable environment :-)]

Volker
Stefan Farrelly
Honored Contributor