Operating System - VMware
1748140 Members
3903 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

ESXi Newbie Needs Help Adding Hard Drives

jmccormick

ESXi Newbie Needs Help Adding Hard Drives

I am new to the ESXi & VMware concept. I inherited an HP Proliant DL 385 G5 running ESXi v4.0.0 build 244038. It has 8 GB ram, which I want to upgrade to 16GB (should be no problem). However I have 3 HP 146GB SAS hard drives & want to add 4 more to expand my storage capacity so I may add several more VM's. Not sure if I can just plug in the additional hard drives and the software will see them and make the necessary changes or do I need to do some additional configuring in the system as well? I do not want to lose any data in the upgrade either. Can anyone help a novice out?
Thanks!
1 REPLY 1
Balasubramanian.S

Re: ESXi Newbie Needs Help Adding Hard Drives

You have a situation where you have configure your ESX host as 3.5 with 2 disk as RAID 1+0 and rest all as RAID5 for the VMFS partition. If you have installed your ESX host like next and next finish then you will not see RAID 5 as VMFS partition though when you see your VC you can see that mounted as different target but when you try to add it as datastore you wont be able to do so.
I had college of mind who has installed the ESX like that and was struggling to create additional VMFS partition on RAID 5 partition. . When he tried to see if I can add using add store wizard but we were not able to see anything under storage wizard

How do we then create additional VMFS partition? We can not add it as extend as discussed in my previous blog. I then found beautiful KB and ask them to follow step by step (You never know if VMware make it paid so copying it on blog)
To create a new VMFS volume from the command line:
1. Locate the LUN you wish to format. For example, vmhba1:2:0.
2. Log in to the ESX console, either directly or through an SSH client.