1753637 Members
5399 Online
108798 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Help System for Application Development

SOLVED
Go to solution

Help System for Application Development

Can anyone clue me in on what is the approved system or methodology du jour for providing online and/or context-sensitive help in applications on OpenVMS? It appears that there is a standard (sort of) for CDE that is used on some UNIX platforms. I suppose that we don't use Bookreader anymore on OpenVMS? Most people have moved to browser-based help, but the difficulties associated with Mozilla on OpenVMS appears to make that an unworkable solution here.

So what's an application on OpenVMS supposed to do these days? As an application developer, I need a simple way to provide online help with my Motif-based applications. So is there a facility that is documented for OpenVMS (including tools and techniques for how to build Help for whatever we are using these days)?
27 REPLIES 27

Re: Help System for Application Development

I don't find a way to ammend or append to a posted message here, so this is an addendum masquerading as a reply. In browsing through OpenVMS online documentation, I find references to the aforementioned CDE Help Authoring system, so I'm guessing that this is what is supported or recommended for use with OpenVMS. Please correct me if I'm wrong ('cause I was hoping for something different). But if so, can anyone point me to a way to download the documentation for this help authoring tool in pdf (Adobe Protable Document Format, but you knew that already). I don't see any point in forcing us to read online documentation only.

BTW, Sun Microsystems provides documentation for the CDE Help Authoring system (and everything else in the world) in downloadable pdf format, so if there are no differences in CDE Help Authoring on VMS as compared to the same on Sun, then we can just rely on Sun for our documentation. But as VMS is not exactly Solaris, that's probably not the case.