New Discussion юеВ

Re: Scheduler

SOLVED
Go to solution
MPIvan
Occasional Advisor

Scheduler

Hi all,

Im trying to learn this new OpenVMS. Im very new, and it is my first time.
I have start this conversation a long time ago. Now im in deep of this problem and i would like to solve it.

I have one procedure that have to be execute every day. Is there any kind of scheduler for OpenVMS system?
The procedure that is i execute like this:
"submit /noprint <name_procedure>"
the procedure is .com extension.

so this would be like: "submit /noprint backup.com"
when i execute this there is a log file crated and i want this log file to be send on e-mail when its finish. How can i do this ?

Im running OpenVMS V7.3-2  

19 REPLIES 19
abrsvc
Respected Contributor
Solution

The task you request is completed using DCL code within the procedure.  Essentially you re-submit the same job with a scheduled runtime as shown below.  Place this code at the beginning of the procedure and it will submit itself for execution at 1/2 hour after midnight.

$ SUBMIT -

/restart -

/AFTER="TOM+00:30:00" -

/LOG_FILE=DAY.LOG -

DAY.COM

As far as sending an Email, place the following line within the procedure after the work is completed and before the procedure exits.

$ mail -

/sub="message log_file.log

smtp%"user@location.com"

Hope this helps,

Dan

MPIvan
Occasional Advisor

Thanks Dan,

Thanks for reply / help.

So lets say that im having procedure where i will create a file and says "hello ivan"

If i want every day to make a file saying Hello Ivan, i will do this:

$ SUBMIT -
/restart -
/AFTER="TOM+13:30:00" -
/LOG_FILE=DAY.LOG -
DAY.COM

$ OPEN/WRITE test HelloTest.dat
$ WRITE OUTPUT_FILE "Hello Ivan"
$ CLOSE OUTPUT_FILE

$ mail -
/sub="message log_file.log
smtp%"user@location.com"

and all this will be in the file called "TestScheduler"

or should i have make DAY.com be the file that will contain the 

$ OPEN/WRITE test HelloTest.dat
$ WRITE OUTPUT_FILE "Hello Ivan"
$ CLOSE OUTPUT_FILE