1752579 Members
4235 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Simple FTP script

Victor Mendham
Regular Advisor

Simple FTP script

Anyone have a simple FTP script to automate the transfer of a file to multple systems? Anyone know how to encorporate chmod into this? I'm new to unix and thus scripting so
I'm wondering if anyone has a simple ftp script to do this or can walk me through it.
I want to ftp (+ prompt for user,passwd,but leave dir and file name as /etc/hosts) a standard host file to a bunch of systems and ensure permissions on it so it will be available for use. Running ITO and adding managed nodes across the wan and need to ensure host is the same in all locations.
4 REPLIES 4
Rick Garland
Honored Contributor

LOG=
cd /

ftp -n -v > $LOG << ENDFTP
user
lcd /
get/put
ENDFTP

This will do just one host. Can embellish to do more.

Do a search for FTP in the forums and you will find multiple threads on this subject.
Antoanetta Naghiu
Esteemed Contributor

Do a querry in the forum. You'll get more than one script.
Tim Malnati
Honored Contributor