1753329 Members
5227 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion

Blade technology

dtoflaherty
Occasional Contributor

Blade technology

I am new to blades and need an answer to my problem.

I have been tasked with reducing the complexity of our network cabling - ethernet switches, fibre switches etc. Our current environment has 8 chassis with blades distributed accross those. The virtual estate requires an upgrade and this is determined to be an ideal time to try and implement this lower network complexity and try to reduce cost.

There are 11 hosts that will be reduced to 8 ( there is eight because of a large volume of blades 460's g1 that are to be virtualised)

I have been asked to implement new Blades but with out changing the HP 1/10G Virtual Connect Ethernet Module. My network config on the new blades is to have a flex LOM adaptor which should give 2 10 NICs. These will be rolled back to 1 GB. i then will add a HBA in MEZ one and a QUAD port NIC in MEZ 2. i will then have my six NICs and 2 HBA tpo meet my minnimum reqs for the blade. Using this I can then usie the existing hardware.

I want to advise to upgrade the HP 1/10G Virtual Connect Ethernet Module to Flex ten modules and roll down to two modules for the FC and two for the eth. Can some one advise or confirm that this will work and then advise on an argument for investing in the Flex 10

2 REPLIES 2
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Blade technology

I don't understand what interconnects you have in which slots, but keep in mind the mezzanine cards are hard wired to the interconnect bays, so you need to have the appropriate modules there (e.g. mezzanine cards are hard wired to ic slot 5+6 or 7+8, depending on server and chassis model.).

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Casper42
Respected Contributor

Re: Blade technology