StoreVirtual Storage
1748049 Members
5068 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion

Best practices for setting up HP P4300 G2 and volumes on HP CMC v. 11.0?

SOLVED
Go to solution
lyngsie
Occasional Collector

Best practices for setting up HP P4300 G2 and volumes on HP CMC v. 11.0?

I cannot find any best practice documents for configuring Hp StoreVirtual Centralized Management Console v. 11.0. The only one I can find covers v. 9.0 through 9.5. Is this still current for 11.0? This is the one:

http://h20195.www2.hp.com/V2/GetPDF.aspx/4AA3-6918ENW.pdf

This document only gives some basic insight into how volumes should be created and managed. We are migrating to this storage from an NFS storage, so I have very little knowledge on how to create and manage volumes. Which approach should I take initally and still keep in mind that it should be able to scale out in the future?

Can someone help me on these matters?

9 REPLIES 9
oikjn
Honored Contributor

Re: Best practices for setting up HP P4300 G2 and volumes on HP CMC v. 11.0?

I don't know if there is any newer one out there, but the information in that one is pretty much identical for v11.  Only differences are the refrences to the version numbers.  Sadly, there are no new features in v11 vs. v9.5 that would make that guide outdated other than the list of supported operating systems.

lyngsie
Occasional Collector

Thank you for answering.

My real headache here is how to manage the amount and sizes of volumes. How should I approach this?

oikjn
Honored Contributor
Solution

what do you mean exactly?

Pretty much you should make every volume a thin provisioned volume as if you use thick provisioning, it will also generate thick snapshots!

There currently isn't a built in way to shrink LUNs once they expand so you have to plann of when that issue happens.  I generally create LUNs ~500GB in size so I can move things around more easily than a single 4+TB LUN, but its all up to you.