1748129 Members
3703 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Maintaining quorum when adding storage nodes to HP cluster

RandomGuy
Occasional Visitor

Maintaining quorum when adding storage nodes to HP cluster

I'm pretty new to HP storage and I've been tasked with adding additional storage to our VMware environment. Things have been going smoothly thus far, but I just realized something that gave me cause for concern. First, allow me to give a little background on our current setup...

We presently have two DL380's acting as our ESXi hosts. The ESXi image is located on local storage on the servers. We have two P4000's configured and set up in a management group/cluster, providing storage to our hosts. The failover manager for the P4000's is set up and hosted on the local storage of one of the DL380's.

Rather than purchasing additional storage nodes, it was decided that we would instead purchase additional disks for our two DL380's, set the disks up in Raid5 arrays, install HP VSA's on each host, add them to our existing management group/cluster, and create new volumes (network Raid10). I made it as far as adding the VSA's to our existing management group/cluster in CMC when something occurred to me... Since the FOM is located on the local storage of one of our DL380's, if that server were to go down (taking down the FOM and one of the VSA's) wouldn't that also cause us to lose quorum and bring down the new storage? I am assuming that the two P4000's do not play into quorum for the VSA's, but please correct me if I'm mistaken on that.

I very well may be overlooking how exactly adding the new VSA's to our management group/cluster will affect quorum, but I want to be sure that one DL380 crashing (or even just rebooting) doesn't bring down our storage.

Thanks!

3 REPLIES 3
oikjn
Honored Contributor

Re: Maintaining quorum when adding storage nodes to HP cluster