StoreVirtual Storage
1753731 Members
4869 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion

P4500 - Should volumes go offline during a resync & rebalance of the cluster?

CS23
Occasional Contributor

P4500 - Should volumes go offline during a resync & rebalance of the cluster?

Hi, excuse my lack of knowledge on this prodcut, I'm completely new to it.

One of our HP P4500  storage nodes went offline last night and came back online a few minutes later. It looks like this was due to it crashing.

When it came back online it showed that it had come back into the cluster with status Not Ready  followed by status UP. The production volumes then were resyncing & the staging volume was back online.  The SAN cluster then rebalanced before coming back online 10 minutes later.

Can someone confirm that its normal for the volumes to go offline when re-syncing and re-balancing the cluster? Seems strange and not very High Availablity-like.

6 REPLIES 6
oikjn
Honored Contributor

Re: P4500 - Should volumes go offline during a resyn & rebalance of the cluster?

if you are running network raid 0 then yes that is normal, if you are running network raid 10, then no, that is not normal and typically means you haven't setup your MPIO correctly on your servers.

CS23
Occasional Contributor

Re: P4500 - Should volumes go offline during a resync & rebalance of the cluster?

Thanks for your reply.

We have raid 10 but from what I can see its nothing to do with MPIO. When the node went offline we still had access to the data from what I can see.

The issue seemed to occur when the node came back online and the HP SAN was performing tasks to re-sync the disks. The actual logs show the volumes were taken offline by the SAN not that the network to the SAN was a problem.

Gediminas Vilutis
Frequent Advisor

Re: P4500 - Should volumes go offline during a resync & rebalance of the cluster?

@CS23 wrote:

Thanks for your reply.