New Discussion

Re: IMC NTA 7.1 - Not getting data in to NTA

SOLVED
Go to solution
RichardP_LSI
Occasional Contributor

IMC NTA 7.1 - Not getting data in to NTA

Hi all,

I am finding the documentation somewhat confusing.

We currently use IMC to manage our switches and waps. I am far from an expert in it, and know I dont use it to its fullest potential.

Recently we had an issue with a WAN link where the link was getting saturated and stopped working. I have a budget to get some more logging enabled on the system, and as we use IMC, I want to put NTA in so I can get more granular information about what is using the link. IMC is 7.1 Standard and the NTA is the 'trial' 7.1 if you want to call it that whilst I work out if it does what I want it to or can even get it to work.

I am trying to get the 2920 at the core of our network reporting in bandwidth. (will be specifically port 38)I have set up sflow on the switch, using these commands which I read in a post are fairly 'standard' to get things working before tweaking it further if needed....

sflow 1 destination "IP Address of IMC Server"

sflow 1 polling all 20

sflow 1 sampling all 1000

This set up the conector and when I run show sflow 1 destination I can see it sending packets to the server on port 6343.

Under device management in NTA, the switch appears. I am now at a loss what to do. I have tried modifying things in the settings on NTA, but still dont seem to have data as I get 'No Data Available' in the Interface Traffic screen. Also if I look at the database size, it doesnt grow that quicky, so I dont think its logging.

If I look at a TCP View, I can see the server is recieving data on port 6343 on receiver.exe

I created a 2nd sflow to a test Solarwinds NTA, albeit using a different port number, and that works fine, so I think I have the switch OK (unless I have the wrong port number) but its something in NTA I am missing.