Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Exclude volume groups of ignite-ux

Regular Advisor

Exclude volume groups of ignite-ux

[ Edited ]

Hi everybody,


I want to make a recovery using the make_net_recovery command.

I want to create the archive recovery only for vg00. This contains the operating system.


But, when I issue the command:


make_net_recovery -s server -x inc_entire=vg00 -p

It shows the messages:

       * /usr/sbin/vgcfgbackup /dev/vg00

       * Backing Up Volume Group /dev/vg15

       * Backing Up Volume Group /dev/vg20


(the total output is attached)


The question is:

How I exclude the others VGs. ?  This is a normal behaviour ?



HP-UX 11i V1 running on PA-RISC. Version Ignite-UX C.7.15.254



Thanks in advance






P.S.This thread has been moved from  System Administration to HP-UX > ignite- HP Forums Moderator


Honored Contributor Honored Contributor

Re: Exclude volume groups of ignite-ux

Perfectly normal:


       * Backing Up Volume Group /dev/vg15
       * /usr/sbin/vgcfgbackup /dev/vg15
       * Creating Map Files for Volume Group /dev/vg15
       * /usr/sbin/vgexport -s -p -m /etc/lvmconf/vg15.mapfile /dev/vg15

 What this means (albeit poorly worded) is that vgcfgbackup and vgexport have been run in order to 'backup' the LVM information into the /etc/lvmconf directory. Only vg00 will actually be written to the network server.  When you run the backup, check the size of the archive on the network server (/var/opt/ignite/recovery/archives). It should be slightly smaller than the occupied space on vg00 (the archive is gzipped compressed).