108807 Solutions
New Discussion

Ignite tape boot hangs at "Boot IO Dependent Code" line

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jesse Osby
Occasional Advisor

Ignite tape boot hangs at "Boot IO Dependent Code" line

HP-UX newbie here...I have an Ignite tape sent to me by a customer that I'm trying to boot from to restore onto a new server.

My tape is found when I run "search" from the boot menu:

IODC
Path# Device Path (dec) Device Path (mnem) Device Type Rev
----- ----------------- ------------------ ----------- ----
P0 0/0/1/0.6 extscsi.6 Sequential access media 1
P1 0/0/2/0.6 intscsia.6 Random access media 1

So, I do "bo p0", but this is all I get:

Main Menu: Enter command or menu > bo p0
Interact with IPL (Y, N, or Cancel)?> y
Booting...
Boot IO Dependent Code (IODC) revision 1

Then it just sits there. I don't see any tape activity. I thought maybe it was just slow, but I've left it sitting there for two days and it's still sitting at that line.

I considered maybe it was a problem with the tape, but I found these commands to list the contents of the files on the Ignite tape:

mt -f /dev/rmt/0mn fsf 1
tar -tvf /dev/rmt/0m

That works just fine...I see files from /stand, etc.

Would a hardware difference cause this? These are not identical machines, but the output of "model" is the same for both: "9000/800/N4000-55"

Thanks in advance!

9 REPLIES 9
Jesse Osby
Occasional Advisor

Re: Ignite tape boot hangs at "Boot IO Dependent Code" line

FYI, I was thinking this might just be caused by a bad/corrupted tape, too...but I've tried doing "search ipl" at the boot menu, and the box identifies the tape as a valid boot source still, which (as I understand it) indicates the LIF on the tape is valid.

Henry Fauni
Valued Contributor