108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Make_sys_image execute permissions denied

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mike Rightmire
Frequent Advisor

Make_sys_image execute permissions denied

I am trying to use the make_sys_image command with HP_UX 10.20 and it gives me an "execute permissions denied" error. I tried running the file directly from a shared drive and then copied it to the /tmp directory on the local machine. I am getting the same error with both.

I am trying to run the command as root, however I did see that the file originally had 'bin' as owner. I 'su'ed to bin and used chmod to change the permissions with no luck. I eventually tried 'chmod 777 make_sys_image' which (as I understand it) should allow all users full access to it. I still got the execute denied error.

I then changed the ownership of the copied file (/tmp) to root, used 'chmod 777 make_sys_image' from root and then tried to run the command as root and still got the same error.

What am I missing. I am new to UNIX and Ignite. Thanks in advance for the help!
Mike
"If we treated each person we met as if they were carrying an unspeakable burden, we might almost treat each other as we should." Dale Carnegie
8 REPLIES 8
Matt Livingston
Valued Contributor
Solution

Re: Make_sys_image execute permissions denied

On a 10.20 machine I have make_sys_image in /opt/ignite/data/scripts/

# pwd
/opt/ignite/data/scripts
# ll
total 154
dr-xr-xr-x 2 bin bin 1024 Jun 17 1999 examples
-r-xr--r-- 1 bin bin 1216 Oct 20 1998 findholes
-r-xr--r-- 1 bin bin 47033 Oct 20 1998 make_sys_image
-r-xr--r-- 1 bin bin 13407 Oct 20 1998 os_arch_post_c
-r-xr--r-- 1 bin bin 14004 Oct 20 1998 os_arch_post_l
#

make_sys_image is a script which is only executable by root. You said you are running this from a shared directory. As you are the root user on the local machine, not on the machine sharing the directory, you are not allowed to run it or change the permissions.