New Discussion

IRF Layer 3 routing configuration

SOLVED
Go to solution
JasonJB
Occasional Contributor

IRF Layer 3 routing configuration

Hi All,

I'm new to HP switches, I just finished configuring two HP 5500 48 port switches into IRF stack and it's working as it should, I have the following questions which I don't know how to configure or setup, can anyone help me out, Thanks in advance 

1) I have to configure two VLAN, and from both switches I have two cable (1 cable for one VLAN) and in total I have four cables two from each switch. The four cables that goes out from my switch connects to 4 switches (two for each vlan), How do I configure the Port routing on my HP switch per VLAN so that this can be handled? and how does the GW ip configured on my HP switch changes when one of the HP switch fails, I already checked I can do a VLAN interface IP not sure how that works when it comes to IRF and also not sure how can I set a Layer 3 IP to a port and make it work with switch failover

2) Let’s say if i can get the above config working, then does it mean that I will get traffic from all 4 cables? if so how does this part work?

Thank you everyone in advance

Jason

7 REPLIES 7
Jacques_GRILLOT
Advisor

Re: IRF Layer 3 routing configuration

Bonjour Jason,

I make a drawing of your technology, let me know if it is correct.

So :

A) On IRF-stack ;
1) You create the 2 VLAN ;
2) For each VLAN, you create 2 VLAN interface ;
3) You create a trunk on each port that connects to the other switch ;

B) On each other switch :
1) You create VLAN with its interface ;
2) You create a trunk on the port that connects to the IRF-stack.

The routing is implicite between each VLAN when you create a VLAN interface : from my drawing, VLAN100 and VLAN200 can communicate between them.

Of course, don't forget to untag the ports that are in each VLAN.