Advisor

Re: Awk field seperator

Denvor,

the NR doesn't work?
Denver Osborn
Honored Contributor

yeah sorry, it didn't look right to me either after hitting submit. :(

Anyhow, I'm still a noob but using NR should be able to do it in a one liner.

I'll have to defer to an awk guru for the one liner... otherwise pipe to awk 'NR>1{exit};1' (sorta like head -1)

awk '/'hell'/ && !/awk/ {print $3}' /tmp/target.txt |awk 'NR>1{exit};1'

-denver
Hein van den Heuvel
Honored Contributor

>> awk '/'hell'/ && !/awk/ {print $3}' /tmp/target.txt |awk 'NR>1{exit};1'

You Unix types... Always seem to think a solution needs a pipe or two to count.

You are in AWK. Stay there.
Let awk do the work!

First step:

whole line: awk '/test/ && (!i++) ' tmp.txt

field: awk '/test/ && (!i++){print $3} ' tmp.txt

Here we test for a piece of string, and if that succeeds test for a variable "i" and increment after the test. If the "i" test is zero, then print.

There is still a 'problem' with this solution. Awk will keep on reading and testing where no more data will ever be produced. So just print and tell it to go home:

Best solution:
awk '/test/ {print $3; exit}' tmp.txt

Enjoy,
Hein van den Heuvel
HvdH Performance Consulting.

maliaka
Advisor

Hien,

You da man!!!
Now, how can I get awk to return a value greater than 0 if the string returns null (nothing)?

Also, if I want to accept a file format of 2 fields. The first field is only numbers and second field is a mixed of numbers and characters and to return a value greater than 0 if the format isn't correct?

100100100100 helloworld
Peter Nikitka
Honored Contributor

Hi,

I wonder how many question you can out into one single message ...

Your latest one:

>>
Also, if I want to accept a file format of 2 fields. The first field is only numbers and second field is a mixed of numbers and characters and to return a value greater than 0 if the format isn't correct?

100100100100 helloworld
<<

awk 'NF != 2 || $1 !~ /^[0-9]*$/ {exit 1}'