Operating System - HP-UX
1752580 Members
3124 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Command Line Editing - Please advise!

Sam1586
Occasional Contributor

Command Line Editing - Please advise!

Hi

I'm pretty new to the HP-UX. I cannot make the backspace and edit if something goes wrong. I understand there is no Bash in HP-UX, however is there any options available.

Thank you

Sam

6 REPLIES 6
P Arumugavel
Respected Contributor

Hi,

The bash shell is not available in HP-UX by default. However you can install it and get the bash functionality.

It is available in folloing link.

http://hpux.connect.org.uk/hppd/hpux/Shells/bash-4.2.010/

If you need the bash shell only for backspace function, then you set the terminal as below.

if you want it to be permanently, edit your .profile file.

#stty erase ^?

Rgds...

Sam1586
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for your quick reply. I did tried as said above, but throwing some errory. Please advise. Thanks in advance. 

# stty erase^?
unknown mode: erase^?

Patrick Wallek
Honored Contributor

There's a space between the 'erase' and the '^?'.  To get the '^?' character just hit the backspace key after entering 'stty erase '.  The '^?' should echo to the screen.  Then you can hit enter.

So:

# stty erase <hit backspace key here> 

Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Default command line editing is just like using vi.

As a hp-ux (or unix in general) user to should know or learn some basics.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Command Line Editing - stty

>#stty erase ^?

This depends on what your terminal emulator sends.  I want the backspace key and control-H to do the same thing so I have to use: stty erase ^h

>To get the '^?' character

You can also type this as two separate chars or the DEL char.

>Default command line editing is just like using vi.

You can confirm this in a real shell by doing:

$ set -o