108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Pthreads

SOLVED
Go to solution
Naveen Chandika
Occasional Advisor

Pthreads

I am new to multi threads and I have written a multi thread application using Pthreads and running it on HP-UX B.11.31 U ia64. It works fine when the number of threads are 8. If I increase the thread to 11, its coredump with the following message on

=============
Pid 29493 received a SIGSEGV for stack growth failure.
Possible causes: insufficient memory or swap space,
or stack size exceeded maxssize
or stack size limit is set too small.

is this related to pthread_attr_setstacksize? I am passing NULL as NULL stack address so I think its using PTHREAD_STACK_MIN.

what is the value of PTHREAD_STACK_MIN?
In limits.h it shows it as 4096 and in unistd.h "define _SC_THREAD_STACK_MIN 432"

Can you please suggest what needs to be increased?
10 REPLIES 10
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Re: Pthreads

> Can you please suggest what needs to be
> increased?

Attention to detail?

> [...] HP-UX B.11.31 U ia64 [...]

You've posted your HP-UX question in a Linux
forum.
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

>If I increase the thread to 11, it coredump with the following message on

I'm not sure why increasing the number should do this.
It would be helpful to debug it and get a stack trace.

>is this related to pthread_attr_setstacksize?

It might be if the stack overflow is on a thread stack.

>I am passing NULL as NULL stack address so I think it's using PTHREAD_STACK_MIN.

Why are you calling pthread_attr_setstacksize(3) if you aren't providing a value? No need to call the attribute functions if you take the default.

>what is the value of PTHREAD_STACK_MIN? In limits.h it shows it as 4096

I think the default thread stack size on Integrity is 256 Kb, half for the user stack.
Naveen Chandika
Occasional Advisor