4953 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSM430 VLAN not working with wireless connections

McIrish
Occasional Contributor

MSM430 VLAN not working with wireless connections

MSM430 version 5.7.2.0 -12736 firmware

I've been using Cisco access points here for the last 10 years and decided to upgrade to the MSM430. I like the interface but am running into a problem.

Here is what I have:

VLAN 1 = Employees (tagged on port 1)

VLAN 2 = Guests (tagged on port 1)

VSC "Employees" egress VLAN set to 1

VSC "Guests" egress VLAN set to 2

The MSM430 connects to an HP switch that is set to have VLAN 1 untagged and VLAN 2 tagged

Management computer is on VLAN 1

Problem:

The wireless connections on VLAN 1 often timeout, as if they can't make connection to the DHCP server on VLAN 1. On the Cisco AP, I always set VLAN 1 as the default VLAN. Everything has always worked (and still does). But, on the MSM430, I can't assign VLAN 1 as the default. When I try to do that, I get an error "the management vlan is invalid because it is currently used by wireless clients." I'm not sure if that has anything to do with it or not.

Observations:

If I set the port on the switch to tag both VLAN 1 and VLAN 2, wireless users can connect on both VLANs but I'm unable to access the management web portal.

I know there must be something simple that I'm doing wrong. As I said, this system has been working for 10 years with the Cisco access points, but I'm just running into trouble with this.

Thanks for the help.

2 REPLIES 2
Fredrik L├╢nnman
Honored Contributor

Skip the egress VLAN for VSC Employees and they will be bridged to the ethernet port untagged.

---
CCIE Service Provider
MASE Network Infrastructure [2011]
H3CSE
CCNP R&S

McIrish
Occasional Contributor