Optical Jukeboxes and Drives
1748165 Members
3890 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Omnibook 2100 hdd upgrade

jdharm

Omnibook 2100 hdd upgrade

This is my first time in this forum. I hope it is as helpful as the other forum I frequent. The people there are awesome, but I didn't get an answer to this. In case you should need another excellent source of help the other forum is at www.winguides.com/forums

Anyway, I'm taking suggestions on where to look for a solution to this problem. I'm out of ideas.

I have a HP Omnibook 2100 (266MHz, 288MB RAM (256MB + 32MB integrated), Pheonix BIOS)with a 4.3GB IBM Travelstar hdd. I am trying to install a 20GB IBM Travelstar hdd.

When I first got the 20GB drive it had Windows 2000 on it from it's previous residence. I installed it in the Omnibook and Win2K started to boot. I shut it down before the boot completed. Even if it would have booted I didn't want to change the existing install because the drive wasn't mine yet. In any event it seemed to work OK. The 4.3GB went back in the Omnibook.

I then agreed to buy the drive. So I installed the 20 and the 4.3 drives, with IDE adapters, in a testbench tower and ran Ghost to clone the OS on the 4.3 to the 20. No problem.

I put the 20 in the Omnibook and it would not boot.

I notice the BIOS only sees 8433 MB of the 20GB. So I updated the BIOS with the tool provided by HP for Win2K on the Omnibook 2100. Now the BIOS sees the full 20GB.

Still no boot.

I the reclone the 4.3 to the 20, this time making sure that the partition on the new drive is below 8GB.

No boot.

I delete all partitions on the 20, and create a FAT partiton. I formatted the FAT partition. I have insured a clean drive. I clone the 4.3 to a 7.5GB partition.

No boot.

I take the 20 to the testbench tower and plug it in. It tries to boot Win2K.

So where is the problem? Obviously with the notebook or with the Ghost clone.