1748224 Members
4557 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: 2620s, I'm new to QoS, would like some assistance

W Fooshee
Advisor

2620s, I'm new to QoS, would like some assistance

My customer has 4 users at an office separate from their main location. We have a 3Mbps circuit between the sites, with each end connected to a port on a 2620 switch, a switch I've not personally used before. We needed PoE for IP phones and have enjoyed good success in the past with other Procurve switches.

I have the data network (PCs, servers, printers, etc.) on the default VLAN (VLAN 1). We recently added a VoIP phone system, and added VLAN 10 for that. There is also a VLAN 2 for WAPs located around the offices, for public wifi access to the Internet.

On the 2620 on the main office side of the link, VLAN 1 (PCs) is untagged on port 23-28. VLAN 2 (public wifi) is tagged on ports 25 and 26. VLAN 10 (voice) is untagged on ports 1-22, and tagged on ports 25 and 26. Port 26 is the interconnect to the core switch, and port 25 connects to the circuit.

On the 2620 at the remote office, VLAN 1 is untagged on ports 13-23 and 25-28, VLAN 2 is untagged on port 24 and tagged on port 25, VLAN 10 is untagged on ports 1-12 and tagged on port 26. Ports 1-12 would carry phones, 13-23 would carry PCs or printers, port 24 would have the WAP for that office, and port 26 connects to the circuit.

Customer states that periodically they lose all connection to the main office. Phones and LAN traffic are all lost. It usually recovers after 30 seconds or so, but has been known to last several minutes. They have also stated that phone calls sometimes become one-way; they can't hear the caller but the caller can hear them.