1748051 Members
5046 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Proliant ML110 G6 now has no video

ITPros
Frequent Advisor

Proliant ML110 G6 now has no video

A customer reports that now he has no video on his 1.5 year old ML 110 G6 running Windows 2008 R2 x64 and running as a basic SQL + file server.  He has no AD or DNS setup. 

He adds, "The way I have it setup is to have the video stay on permanently (no black out period after a certain time or screensaver) and there is no sleep or settings to turn of the machine. It's basically set to stay on 24/7. When I try to access my shares over the network through a desktop, it doesn't respond, so when I physically head over to the server there is no video coming out of the graphics card. I also tried logging in through Logmein on the machine and I can't access the server that way either. I have to basically have to power off the machine by hold the power button for 5 seconds and restart it.

I've been doing this for a few months already without a solution. I tried to update the video drivers from the stock Microsoft ones (since HP doesn't have any on their support site) to the Matrox G200e ones that I found on Google. It still does the same problem and I'm not sure what else I can do. The server is pretty basic with low load (4 to 5 users on the network).

SQL: Microsoft SQL Server 2005"

He was advised to check the logs and his response was, "The logs just stated event id #41, from source kernel-power...."  We would appreciate the input of the HP server experts here today.

8 REPLIES 8
Abhishek Bangalore
Frequent Advisor

Hello,

I would suggest you to connect a different Monitor and check for the occurence of the issue.

If, the issue persists please clear NVRAM by changing switch number 6 in system management switch 

Thanks

Abhishek Sharma

Help other's for Better Tomorrow

I am an HP Employee
SivaTS
Occasional Advisor

Hi,