1748081 Members
5210 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Remove user

Deepthy

Remove user

I have one requirement which is like this..

** When ever a user resign from company I need to disable the user and keep it for 7 days (for in case of reactive request come).

** After 7 days I want to remove the user from system.
- is there any way I can set the expiration date at the time of disable the user? I want to make this process simple ..in one goтАж
I am new to OpenMVS.. pls help me ..
11 REPLIES 11
RBrown_1
Trusted Contributor

Welcome to the ITRC forums!

Disabling a user is easy:

UAF> MODIFY username /FLAGS=DISUSER

A disabled user cannot log in.

Removing a user is easy:

UAF> REMOVE username

Whether or not removing a user is a good idea is open to discussion. When you remove a user, files owned by the user will remain, but instead of them being owned by [USER, FRED] (for example) they would then be owned by the equivalent but less informative [200,1] (for example). (The corollary here is that if you remove a user, you should not reuse the UIC when a new user is added, otherwise the new user will own all of the previous user's files).

If you want to only type a single command (or set of commands) at one time to disable the user now and remove the user 7 days from now, you will probably have to write a command file that:

1. disables the user
2. creates a temporary command file to remove the user
3. submit the temporary command file to run as a batch job 7 days from now

Not difficult. You will probably want to read the VMS User's Manual, especially the chapters about DCL programming, and check out the VMS System Management Utilities Reference Manual for info about the Authorize Utility. The System Manager's Manual: Essentials chapters about user accounts will also be useful.

Have fun!
Shriniketan Bhagwat
Trusted Contributor

Hi,