MSA Storage
1748019 Members
4354 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Can new disk enclosure be hot added to existing MSA2012FC?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Eddy-Poortman
Visitor

Can new disk enclosure be hot added to existing MSA2012FC?

This probably has been asked before but I haven’t found an clear answer to my question.

First of all I am not an storage expert, I am just the piano player that will be shot ……… if it does not work.

Our company has an C7000 enclosure with 4 HP Blade servers running VMware ESX 4.0 soon to be upgraded tot ESX 4.1 update 1.

Virtual machines are stored on an fiber channel disk enclosure MSA 2012FC with dual controllers. We want to expand our disk capacity by adding an new disk enclosure to our existing enclosure. The system supports up to three enclosures.

Can the new enclosure be hot added to the existing enclosure?

Some post say it can be done but others advice to bring down the enclosure. The is not our preferred option due to the fact that the virtuals have to be kept operational.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

Eddy Poortman.

P.S. This thread has been moved from General to Storage Area Networks (SAN) (Small and Medium Business). - Hp Forum Moderator

4 REPLIES 4

As per the service guide it is possible to add disk enclosure online because this is hot-pluggable module.

Removing any component significantly changes the airflow within the MSA products. The system will shut down in approximately five minutes if the removed component is not replaced or a blanking panel is not inserted.

But always good to have planned downtime and do the Job.

I work for HPE
Accept or Kudo
Eddy-Poortman
Visitor

Thanks, the problem is.. not changing board in an existing unit.

The existing unit has two modules installed with the option to expand to an next unit.

See http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13187_emea/13187_emea.HTML#Configuration Information for details.