5468 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

MSA 2040 - Dusting and Cleaning

StephenWagner7
Frequent Advisor

MSA 2040 - Dusting and Cleaning

Hello Community,

Had a question here... While I have extensive experience disasembling and cleaning servers, other MSA disk arrays, etc... I've been wanting to take my MSA 2040 offline and give it a good dusting/cleaning.

I've never actually disassembled an MSA 2040 before. I'm not concerned about the power supplies, and controllers, but I do see a sticker on the top towards the front stating "Warranty void if seal broken". This sticker leads me to this post...

By removing the controllers, PSUs, and disks, can I get access to every component and crevas to dust this puppy out, or am I limited. I'm getting the feeling that sticker may prevent me from getting access to the midplane part of the array.

As always, I know I'm not supposed to cause fans to rev from airflow.

Anyone have any advice?

Cheers

3 REPLIES 3
Ian Vaughan
Honored Contributor

Re: MSA 2040 - Dusting and Cleaning

Hmmm,

Given that the unit is optimised for front to back air flow I don't think you will go too far wrong with compressed air through the front (not that I'm endorsing it but have you seen the YouTube videos using Garden Leaf Blowers for this :-O ) and Henry or one of his industrial vacuum friends at the back to catch the dust, fluff and cruft that flies out.

There is a school of thought that says that you shouldn't disassemble the components as that potentially exposes the connectors that are usually seated together and haven't been exposed to dust contamination. However, I too would be slightly wary of turning the exhaust fans into wind turbines so I would at least remove those :-)

Let us know how you get on.

Cheers

Ian

(Hope that helps - please give kudos if it does)

Hope that helps - please click "Thumbs up" for Kudos if it does
## ---------------------------------------------------------------------------##