HPE EVA Storage
1752483 Members
5521 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Add new hosts to B series switch/eva 4400

isadmin431

Add new hosts to B series switch/eva 4400

Hi I'm new to storage.  I'm thinking this is simpler than i'm making it out to be.  I'm adding two new VMware hosts to my environment.  Currently I have two hosts with two HBA's in each, an EVA 4400 with two controllers and two B series switches, here's what it looks like:

Switch A

Port 0 = Controller1, P1

Port 1 = Controller 2, P1

Port 2 = Host 1

Port 3 = Host 2

Alias ESX1 = host 1

Alias ESX2 = host 2

Alias EVA = both controllers on HSV300

Zone 1 = EVA & Host1

Zone 2 = EVA and Host2

SwitchB

Port 0 = Controller1, P2

Port 1 = Controller 2, P2

Port 2 = Host 1

Port 3 = Host 2

Alias ESX1 = host 1

Alias ESX2 = host 2

Alias EVA = both controllers on HSV300

Zone 1 = EVA & Host1

Zone 2 = EVA and Host2

How do i add two hosts, each with a dual port HBA into this mix.  Do I just Alias Host 3 and Host 4, add them into new Zone 3, 4 that also includes the EVA alias?  Then what do i do with the existing config (named CONFIG).  I don't want to disrupt my existing environment.  In the end i'm going to remove Host 1 and 2 from the mix, and only use 3&4, but i'm transitioning for now.

Would love some guidance.  Thank you.

-Robyn

2 REPLIES 2
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Hi, I find that drawing a picture often helps with these types of questions.

But it looks like you got it right.

1. Add the new hosts into aliases in the config.
  2. Add a host and the EVAs to a new zone.
  3. Save and enable the config (this is non disruptive).

Doing the zoning changes via the GUI is probably easiest.

It's possible to download/upload the config (this includes the zoning details) - for example via the CLI commands: configdownload and configupload. Can be used in case of an emergency.