4426 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Tagged vs Untagged on HP switches

Possey
Occasional Contributor

Tagged vs Untagged on HP switches

Hi,

i'm new to the VLAN scene and on my new job I need to manage the network. 

I've already read about tagged and untagged ports and I just had a couple more questions to check if I got it all right.

On my network I can see that there is a connection between 2 switches. Both switches have untagged ports belonging to VLAN 1 or VLAN 2. The ports that are connecting the two switches have the following configuration: 

vlan 1 untagged and vlan 2 tagged. I wonder why this is. If traffic should go from switch to switch, then I would think that the port should be vlan 1 tagged and vlan 2 tagged. Or does this not make any difference?

Other general questions are:

if an untagged port receives tagged packets (with same VLAN ID of the untagged port), will it drop the packet or will it just remove the tag from the packet ?

if an untagged port receives tagged packets (with different VLAN ID of the untagged port), will it drop the packet or will it just remove the tag from the packet ?

if an tagged port receives untagged packets, willl it drop the packet?

Thanks in advance.

3 REPLIES 3
TamNP
Respected Contributor

Possey
Occasional Contributor

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

I still don't understand completely.

So the link between the 2 switches may be set to untagged because it only carries frames from VLAN 1.

But may it the ports also be set to Tagged vlan 1 ? Does that make a difference ?

Could you also answer my other questions ?

if an untagged port receives tagged packets (with same VLAN ID of the untagged port), will it drop the packet or will it just remove the tag from the packet ?   

if an untagged port receives tagged packets (with different VLAN ID of the untagged port), will it drop the packet or will it just remove the tag from the packet ?