108722 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle stop development on itanium

SOLVED
Go to solution
Wim Rombauts
Honored Contributor

But at the other hand, for those who use it, SGeRAC will be part of HA-OE and DC-OE. That's a cost less.

turgay,

the move of those Oracle integrations out of the OEs isn't related to the Oracle anouncements on Itanium in any way - I've seen internal docs on this from several months before the anouncement.. they were simply included in error.

HTH

Duncan

I am an HPE Employee
Accept or Kudo
S. Ney
Trusted Contributor

This certainly isn't good news. I haven't been a Larry fan for quite some time and this just lowers my opinion. Of course it is a handy excuse to knee-cap a competitor.

Unfortunately just being a sys admin I don't get to make those decisions as to which database we use. Most likely path will be to migrate our apps to a linux environ with the latest release of oracle.
Viktor Balogh
Honored Contributor

an article about why IBM DB2 would be a good alternative to OracleDB

http://communities.intel.com/community/openportit/server/blog/2011/04/18/the-itanium-processor-and-db2-a-secret-that-shouldnt-be-so-secret
Unix operates with beer.
Sameer_Nirmal
Honored Contributor

After Microsoft and RedHat dropping the support of Itanium, this is a bad news and HP will get a big hit.

Oracle's decision seems not fair considering many customers have put considerable IT investments on Itanium platform. On the other hand, if there is no Itanium development road map beyond "Kittson" then Oracle is just taking advantage of the situation and turn the game around now that they have acquired Sun. The market penetration of Itanium in comparison with x86 which is pretty low. So for Intel, it won't affect much anyway. Either way HP is at a loss and maybe solely responsible for this hit.