108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: openvms 7.3-1 backups

SOLVED
Go to solution
Adam Strobel
Frequent Advisor

openvms 7.3-1 backups

I'm new to OpenVMS, may backups do now run on SundayтАЩs so I need to make sure the weekly backup file is not commented out. In UNIX I just edit the crontab and make sure everything is in order, does anyone know what the equivalent to the crontab is in OpenVMS?

Thanks,
9 REPLIES 9
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor
Solution

Adam,

on OpenVMS there is the Queue Manager and BATCH queues to run specific DCL command procedures at specified times 'in the background':

You can look at the scheduled batch jobs with:

$ SHOW QUEUE/BA/ALL

Volker.
Adam Strobel
Frequent Advisor

Thanks Volker.

Last question for you, How would one edit these batch jobs?

thanks,
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor

Adam,

you submit a DCL procedure (.COM file) as a batch job with

$ SUBMIT file.com /QUE=que-name/after=time/LOG

Once the job has been submitted into the queue manager, you CANNOT modify the contents of the file.COM you've submitted. You can only edit the file (which would create a new version of the file.COM file), delete the old version from the queue ($ DELETE/ENTRY=entry-number) and re-submit the new version of the file.

Explanation: the OpenVMS Queue Manager stores the file-id of the file and not the file name.

You can change some of the parameters of an existing batch job with $ SET ENTRY number/AFTER=... etc.

Volker.
comarow
Trusted Contributor

You would need to edit the backup file itself.
As far as when it runs, unless you have a scheduling program, there is probably a submit command that needs to be edited.

Usually it is better to have a seperate incremental file sumbitted every day but once, and an full image submitted weekly.

Any questions feel free to ask.
in other words, submit a full image backup weekly,

Backup/image/ignore=interlock weekly,
than daily
Backup/sinc=backup

If you ever need to restore,