New Discussion юеВ

Re: New to Integrity virtual machine - some queries

SOLVED
Go to solution
Amit Jindal_1
Frequent Advisor

New to Integrity virtual machine - some queries

Hi,
I am new to IVM, just going through the documentstions and the forums questions. My existing project wants to switch from SD 32000 to Blade BL870C with IVM on top. I have a few queries:

1)The web sites / introduction pdf says sub cpu , shared i/o etc , but what are the limitations ?
2)If I have two HBA cards, can i allocate one to one guest O.S and second to other? If a HBA card is attached , where the LUNS will be visible ?
3) The requirement is to put around 2.5 TB spread across ( 500 LUNS )for a guest O.S ? so is there any limitations of LUN numbers allocated to any IVM guest host.

4)Your experience - Is the install /manegement of IVM complex, should i use the earlier Vpar which I am comfortable with ? i don't want to use sub cpu etc .. even if i can carve out 3 partitions on a BL870C i am fine. With earlier vpar i can allocate HBA cards to individual partitions, so management will be easy ..
6 REPLIES 6
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

All the limits are written in the documentation, for example

Maximum size of backing store (disk, lvol, file) 2 TB

virtual SCSI devices / VM├в Maximum 30

3.1.10 Configuration Limits
Table 3-2 lists the configuration limits for Integrity VM Version 3.5.

http://docs.hp.com/en/T2767-90105/ch03s01.html#configlimits

You spread 2.5TB over 500 LUNS? really? Sounds like overkill ...

BTW, vPars is not supported on blades ...

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Amit Jindal_1
Frequent Advisor

Thanks Torsten for the quick reply, I have checked the link. for one of the point it says ( virtual SCSI devices / VM ├в Maximum = 30 ) and ( Maximum size of backing store (disk, lvol, file)= 2 TB )