108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: STP vs LoopDetect clarification

SOLVED
Go to solution
Cameron_PDX
Collector

STP vs LoopDetect clarification

Thank you in advance for any time you can take to help me out here!

So I am fairly new to HP STP and have never used the Loopback detection feature.  Correct me if I am wrong here, but my understanding is that STP can create redundancy and detect loops (rather makes a backup link but doesn't forward traffic) only within the STP domain on other managed devices;  where loop detection is designed more for a per port basis on edge ports or ports connected to unmanaged devices (small switch, access point, etc) and only protects against loops.  

If this understanding is correct, I have a few questions that I have been unable to find answers to in documentation.  I don't have a lab to play with and prefer not to test in production so I haven't simply tried any of the things I am asking below.  The switches I am working with are mostly 1910 and 1920 series each location having around 4-6 of them.

1. Can STP and Loop detection be enabled at the same time on the same switch?  Can they both be enabled globally on each switch or does each individual port need to be one or the other?  For one example, if I have STP enabled globally on a 1910-48G and plug in an unmanaged switch to port 48, can I just add loop detection to port 48 on top of STP or do I need to disable STP on port 48 and enable loop detect in place of it?
  2. What are the potential problems of enabling both features as opposed to just choosing one (can they conflict)?  For example, if I enabled loop detection with STP enabled, would loop detection disable my designated/root ports to other switches if a redundant link was connected resulting in lost connection alltogether?