3355 Online
108895 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: c7000 Adding FC SAN

Adrian_C
Occasional Contributor

c7000 Adding FC SAN

Hi,

I've recently taken over a network that has a C7000 enclosure populated with 2x BL480c and 4x BL460c (each with their own SB40c storage blade).

4 of the 6 Blades run physical Windows servers, and two run ESX. At present each ESX only has its own local storage which is starting to become an issue (no HA, storage issues etc).

My plan is to migrate storage to a P2000 G3 MSA Dual controller FC array. I'll admit the Blade thing is new to me, but I have some experience with SANs.

Initially I would just connect the 2 ESX blades to the SAN and move the VM's to the shared storage. But down the track I would like to migrate some of the physical blades to virtual infrastructure, thus freeing up more physical blades for ESX servers.

I'm just wondering what my best options are for connecting FC to the blades. I have spend a bit of time researching and realise I require Mezzanine HBA's in the blades that I require FC connectivity to. But the interconnect is a little confusing.

If I use a FC-VC do i need to replace my current ethernet blade switches (2x GBe2c's).

Or should I stick to passthrough interconnect modules and have external switches?

Or should I utilise interconnect SAN switches?

Any light that can be shed on this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Adrian

8 REPLIES 8
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Hey!

Some people like the passthrough because it becomes a little simpler, OK you'll need more cables but there's less switches to worry about.
VC is nice as it would simplify HBA replacements (no need to re-zone for example) and also less cables, but does add a level of complexity.

The VC-FC modules don't go in the same slot as the GBe2cs but maybe the VC-FC requires VC-Ethernet modules too?
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor