108868 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

OK...I need some shell script help..

SOLVED
Go to solution
Rita C Workman
Honored Contributor

OK...I need some shell script help..

I am down to the last of this thing...and I have lost it.
Take a look at the attached file that is giving me a headache. This is what I've created for doing disk mapping on multiple systems. I did it on 4 servers attached to our EMC disk array..
Each record can have between 3-5 fields (depending on if it's attached to lvol/filesystem or not)

What I am trying to do is get the alternate link (second line of same value as $1) to also print what is reported in the primary disk/lvol/file_sys line.
AND then I want to print a fairly clean report with a space in between different values of $1. Nothing fancy.

This is that disk mapping program I have been working on....and I'm down to this...
..ps..can you tell I am NOT a programmer ! Everytime I try to printf...it blows up because the first line does not have a value for $4 or $5 ... arghghgh !! I've been doing this in Posix Shell. My code is sloppy, but it got me to here..any Help would be appreciated !!

$1 = EMC info
$2 = hostname
$3 = disk addr info
$4 = /dev/vg/lvol
$5 = file_system

Thanks,
Rita
11 REPLIES 11
Vikas Khator
Honored Contributor

Re: OK...I need some shell script help..

Hi ,

How about sorting your file on first & fourth field and then applying your logic.

Keep it simple
Fred Myers
Advisor

Actually EMC has software called I believe ECC that will do exactaly that and let you save it as a flat file, you can even import it into excell as a CSV and sort it if you want. Or you can use the HP utility inq.HP that is a free EMC HP binary awk out each servers information sort it compare it to /etc/lvmtab to get lvol info and the append it to a file on a leveraged machine with a `hostname` placed between them.
RikTytgat
Honored Contributor

Rita,

I'd love to help you, but it would be easier if you submit your script!

Bye,
Rik.