1752544 Members
4851 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

HPE 3PAR unmapping free space

Calyps
Occasional Visitor

HPE 3PAR unmapping free space

I`ve just taken over the management of a 3PAR SAN and I have no experience with the configuration.  As background I just migratate a 3.5Tb VM from one 3PAR SAN to another.  The migration completed succssfully but I then recieved an alert  "Total NL raw space usage at 82346G (above 95% of total 86664G)".  I only then realised that the LUN from VMWare (ESXi 6.0) are thin provisoned on the SAN side.  

I cleared around 2Tb of space from VMWare and then ran the "unmap" command against all the datastores on VMWare.  There after I ran CPG compact via the 3PAR GUI. 

FC free space went from 93% allocated to 92% allocated and NL went from 99% allocated to 98% allocated. 

Free space is being reported as below after the cleanup. 

cli% showspace
--Estimated(MB)---
RawFree UsableFree
1042432 521216

Any advise on how to proceed here?  Also what are the risks running at 90+ % allocation?

1 REPLY 1
Sheldon Smith
HPE Pro

Re: HPE 3PAR unmapping free space

There's a bunch of documentation at the HPE Information Library: www.hpe.com/info/storage/docs
It should come up already set to the 3PAR documentation area.

• HPE 3PAR StoreServ Storage Concepts Guide - skim
  • HPE 3PAR Command Line Interface Administrator Guide - skim
  • HPE 3PAR StoreServ Storage and VMware vSphere 6.5 best practices - read
  • Adaptive Data Reduction Technologies - read

Risks running at 90+ % allocation? Short version - There's a limit to how much more data can be stored. If the system has virtual copies (snapshots) scheduled, if it runs out of free space snapshots could become "stale". Likewise, with the virtual volumes being thin provisioned, if a lot is added increasing a volume's allocation, that LUN could hang waiting for free space.