HPE 3PAR StoreServ Storage
1754014 Members
7439 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: SSMC 3.4 - Capacity reporting / Thin Virtual Volume Capacity reporting?!

TPG-GVA
Occasional Advisor

SSMC 3.4 - Capacity reporting / Thin Virtual Volume Capacity reporting?!

Hi All,

Since I am new to HPE 3PAR / SSMC 3.4, I have a stupid question here.

Where should I look for (either CLI or SSMC) to get information such as

• Thin VV capacity provisioned and/or used
  • Free space remaining on a 3PAR

Is it even possible to get such information? There are many counters but none of them seems to give me the proper information.

For instance, let’s say I create 2 thin VV, 10TB each. I expect to see, somewhere, that I have 20TB used and/or provisioned. Where can I see such information?

I understand that when creating a thin VV, it won’t appear in System\Capacity\Allocated (this counter increments only when creating Thick VV). Ok.

Now, since we’ll be creating only Thin VV and if I want to avoid over provisioning, what counter should I look for? (ie, is there any other way than manually adding up the capacity of each thin VV I’ll create … )

4 REPLIES 4

I would suggest try below command to check all space usage for the entire system,

showsys -space

You try below command to check and understand space at the individual VV level,

showvv -s

Hope this helps!
Regards
Subhajit

I am an HPE employee

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!

***********************************************************************************

I work for HPE
Accept or Kudo
Sheldon Smith
HPE Pro

Why would you want to avoid over provisioning? That's the whole point of having Thin VVs.