5050 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Tunesys after adding new disk enclosure

shang83
Occasional Advisor

Tunesys after adding new disk enclosure

Hi,

I'm new to this tunesys. Here's my scenario, I have a 3PAR 7400 2 node controller with 2 disk enclosure. All the 72 disk slot are accupied with 900GB sas disk. A single CPG with raid 5 and set size 3+1 HA magazine was used. 

After I added a new disk enclosure with 24 900GB sas disk. HP advice me to change the CPG HA from magazine to cage and perform tunesys. This is because I could only see the about 1.6TB free space in CPG if I changed HA from magazine to Cage. If I remain the HA in Magazine, the CPG would have 18TB.  

The tunesys have been run for a day and have not complete. Could I perform creation of new Virtual volume when the tunesys is still running? This is because I need to create a new virtual volume for the file server for migration. 

Does the 3par management console have option to stop the tunesys? Or should I stop the tunesys and switch back the CPG to Magazine? 

5 REPLIES 5
Gary_L
HPE Pro

Re: Tunesys after adding new disk enclosure

Tunesys Will run in the background, and start up additional tasks that take care of the rebalancing of data and any data layout changes.  You can still continue to build virtual volumes and manage the array as normally would.

Ensure you are using your new CPG at the new availability level for any new volumes.

Gary

I am an HPE Employee
shang83
Occasional Advisor

Would there be any degrade in performance, i/o and data lost?

shang83
Occasional Advisor

The tunesys have been runing for 1.5 days. I found out on the first day, after running the tunesys the cpg have 8TB free capacity, but I check again 6 hours later the cpg only have around 5.5TB. Why the CPG free capacity increase and decrease? 

I'm worried I would not get the Free capacity desired for the purpose to purchase additional disk enclosure. 

Gary_L
HPE Pro

Hi Shang83,