Around the Storage Block
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HP 3PAR Wins All-Flash Array Product of the Year from TechTarget

HPEStorageGuy

By Calvin Zito, Blogger and Storage Evangelist

Wow - I'm a literally doing a happy dance now.  I'm a pretty good dancer too! (NOTE: if you watch the video, fast forward to 1:26 to get to the "good stuff.")

Today I learned that TechTarget named the HP 3PAR StoreServ All-Flash Array (AFA) the product of the year in the category of all-flash.

This is such a satisfying recognition for HP 3PAR AFA because in the early days of HP announcing our AFA product, several AFA start-ups claimed because our AFA wasn't built from scratch, it didn't qualify as all-flash storage. I even had one AFA competitor unfollow me on Twitter. He told me "your defense of HP is dutiful but you are displaying a lack of understanding." Well, I think HP and I have a very deep degree of understanding - thank you very much. This TechTarget recognition and many of the recent wins I've seen against the AFA start-ups are proof that the HP 3PAR AFA should be considered by any customer who is looking at all-flash storage.

What is it that is different about HP 3PAR that qualifies it to be considered as an all-flash array?  Here are a few key things to consider:

• The performance of the 3PAR AFA is an industry leader, including start-up AFAs. A general guideline we've talked about is 900,000 IOPs at under .7 ms latency. Our read latency is as low as 300 micro-seconds and write latency as low as 200 micro-seconds.  Yes, that was MICRO-seconds.
  • Deduplication with 3PAR is done via our Gen4 ASIC. That means dedup happens at virtually "line speed". Most other AFAs dedup using the same CPUs that do other tasks and during heavy IO workloads, they turn off deduplication.