Array Performance and Data Protection
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Manually Delete Snapshots

SOLVED
Go to solution
nrp101
Occasional Visitor

Manually Delete Snapshots

I have a question on snapshot deletions.  If you manually delete the oldest snapshot, does it affect your "recoverability" of later snapshots?   Or does the data on the deleted snapshot get merged into the next oldest snapshots?

Thanks!

1 REPLY
nglick57
Advisor
Solution

Re: Manually Delete Snapshot question

Hi Neil,

The cool thing about our snapshots is they're just pointers in time with intelligence built in.  So if you delete the original or baseline snapshot, the next oldest snapshot will become the new baseline.  What you will loose is the capability to restore the volume to that point in time since that snapshot is now gone.  Hope this helps, let me know if you have any questions!

Neil