108799 Solutions
New Discussion

Aruba 2930F Vlans

SOLVED
Go to solution
RandyAncom
Occasional Contributor

Aruba 2930F Vlans

I'm not very technical with setting up switches.  I have an Aruba 2930F 8-port switch (Qty 2).  I want to create 3 Vlan's (VLAN2  VLAN3  VLAN4).  I want to assign ports 1 and 2 for VAN2, ports 3 and 4 for VLAN3, ports 5 and 6 VLAN 4.  This leaves ports 7 and 8 available.  I want/need to use either port 7 or 8 to be my single ethernet connection to carry these VLAN's to a ethernet-to-fiber convertor box for connection to another location to ethernet-to-fiber convertor which will connect to a 2930F at the far end, so the VLAN's will be available there.  Is this do-able?  I've tried tagging and untagging ports 1-8 on one of the switches and testing by pinging between ports from my laptop to another PC, but I cannot seem to figure out what my tagging and untagging should be setup as.  Do I need an ethernet SFP module to tie all of the ports/VLAN's to a single ethernet cable as opposed to just using port 7 or 8?  Which ports should be tagged or untagged accordingly? Also the customer says they need QinQ tunneling turned on.  Is there much involved to do this?  I am using the "menu" feature for configuring (not the CLI or browser).

6 REPLIES 6
parnassus
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Aruba 2930F Vlans

Hi! I'm not used to Web GUI...so I'll explain as CLI commands.

You need first to untag (where untag = made a particular interface untagged member of a specific VLAN) ports used to connect your hosts (indeed your hosts are VLAN unaware <- you just configure them with proper IP Addressing, no reference about VLAN tagging). Clearly I suppose you already created involved VLANs.

So in config mode:

vlan 2

once into vlan 2 contex simply executing:

untag 1,2

will untag ports 1 and 2 with VLAN id 2.

exit (to exit the VLAN 2 contex)

write memory (to save)