5273 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Configuring 6120XG in c7000 10GB context

Jer2224
Collector

Configuring 6120XG in c7000 10GB context

Hi all,

So I am new to HP networking (and networking in general), and I have been landed with a pile of hardware to congigure. I have the following kit:

• 4 x DL385G7 ESXi 5.5 hosts
  • 1 x c7000 chassis with 16 x BL460C ESXi 5.5 hosts
  • 1GB network: 2 seperate 2920 stacks for 1GB storage and 1GB data (5 switches)
  • 10GB network: 3 x Aruba 3810M SFP+ switches in a single stack
  • Mixture of 1GB and 10GB iSCSI storage arrays

So the storage is all working fine, as are the DL385G7 hosts. The hosts can see both the 1GB storage and the 10GB storage LUNs for the VMs (networking for this was done by someone else no longer with the company). The issue I'm having is with the c7000 and the uplinks to the Arubas.

The c7000 has 8 interconnects (2 x 6120XGs and 6 x 3020s). The 3020s connect to one of the 2920 stacks for 1GB iSCSI connectivity - again working fine. The 6120XGs have 4 x 10GB connections each. This is not working fine.

My objective is to configure the BL460c blades to access 10GB iSCSI storage and vMotion through the 6120XGs and access 1GB iSCSI storage and data through the 3020s.

I have tried all kinds of combinations of tagged, untagged, trunked uplinks, and the closest I have got to is the ESXi hosts being able to see the 10GB iSCSI devices but not the LUNs themselves. The devices are the same as on the DL385G7 hosts, which can see the VMFS partitions fine. The blades cannot.

Re. vLANs - I have configured 2 vLANs on the Arubas and the 6120XGs - 5 for vMotion (10.255.255.0/24) and 140 for storage (192.168.140.0/24). Jumbo frames is configured everywhere in the chain that I can see.