Aruba & ProVision-based
1752280 Members
5575 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion

Replacing a L3 core-switch. Suggestions about design and maybe stack.

cmcarlzon
Occasional Contributor

Replacing a L3 core-switch. Suggestions about design and maybe stack.

Hi everyone! 

A little introduction:

If I'm posting this is the wrong location, or something like that please let me know. I'm new to the HPE Community :)

Alright. The story behind this is that I just graduated from a Networking Education, and just landed my first job a couple of months ago. Anyhow, was looking for a place do dicuss certain networking issues that I would come across, since I got no experience, and that we mainly use HP Networking Gear, it seems like this is a good place.

The issue:

The current issue I stand before is this;
We have  a L3 switch, that is acting like a core switch at one of our sites (please see attached topology):

The switch KOSS001, needs to be replaced. I had to restart it the other day, since that switch became unavailable with both SSH and console. Specs of the switch is below (from show tech buffers):

Product: HP J9145A
Name: HP 2910al-24G Switch
Date: Aug 22 2016 10:56:10
Build: 1784

If you look at the topology I have attached, you can see that the KOSS001 is a like a core L3 switch, and all traffic goses through it. About ~300 users. I need to replace this, since it has repeated problems.

What do you recommend?

The following would be some kind of speccs:

> Needs to be Layer 3
> Needs to be HP
> Needs a "stacking" solution (both for power redundancy etc).

Or do you got something else in mind? 

If the switch would fail today, the whole site would be affected.

Any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks you all very much.

Best regards Conny.

4 REPLIES 4
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Re: Replacing a L3 core-switch. Suggestions about design and maybe stack.