108805 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: p 4 or athlon processor

SOLVED
Go to solution
Joe van Raamt
Super Advisor

p 4 or athlon processor

I am planning on buying an 2,54 ghz hp. I am told that the amd athlon is just as good or better than the p 4, yet the athlon is almost $200 canadian dollars cheaper. Any truth to this?
c'est la guerre
7 REPLIES 7
Jon Finley
Honored Contributor
Solution

Yes. I used to be an INTEL biggot. I've been running both Durons and Athlons for the last 8 months, and with the price difference will NEVER go back!

It appears that the instruction set is VERY tight. I've seen Athlons out perform, faster P4's.

Personal Opinion, but...... I Like them.

Jon
"Do or do not. There is no try!" - Yoda
Rune J. Winje
Honored Contributor

The Athlon on the same clock frequency will outperform the P4 significantly. That is why AMD uses the 1800+ designation on their 1535 MHz CPU for instance.

Mainly because of a better architecture where the AMD has 3 full floating point pipelines while the Intel has something like one and a half. Floating point calculations are the main 'number crunchers' in any CPU.

Now, I'm not particularly fond of the scheme, but in most cases it is fairly accurate.

Intel currently have a slight lead in the MHz race, as AMD struggle to keep up.

However the price/performance benefit of AMD is real and significant. For a price-conscious configuration it can't be beaten.

Lastly Intel does have a couple of points worth noticing, especially for use in servers:
* Multiprocessor configurations for more than 2 cpu's (which is the AMD limit)
* Better temperature regulation - meaning the Intel cpu will just slow down if above threshold values, while the AMD's will need to shut off PC power instantly or risk burning out if the cpu-fan is removed or fails during operation. (There's a 'famous' video about this on http://www17.tomshardware.com/cpu/01q3/010917/index.html )

Cheers,
Rune
Alexander M. Ermes
Honored Contributor

Hi there.