Backup and Governance
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Data Protection: Our Customers Speak

StephenSpellicy ‎06-19-2013 01:49 PM - edited ‎02-19-2015 12:40 PM

It was a week of great announcements and meetings at HP Discover. HP Autonomy launched Data Protector 8, a product focused on handling issues of distributed big data backup & recovery. 

As a product manager, I was at Discover to support the launch of Data Protector 8.  I was specifically interested in connecting with HP Autonomy customers and gauging honest feedback concerning our products.

Over the past few days, I had many opportunities to have customers share their challenges, balanced against their IT vision/aspirations, and what ways they are seeking to solve these problems either through one-on-one customer meetings or open forum discussions.  I am delighted when this happens in the open forum because it’s as if a light goes on in the room. Call it curiosity or validation; people like to know they aren’t the only ones trying to figure it all out.

Here’s a snippet of a discussion in one room, last week:

“Have you tried the StoreOnce active network bandwidth control feature yet?”
“Yes, we were a beta tester and we found that it’s best when schedule the backup this way…”

“But if you are going to use that feature, maybe you should rethink that approach to your network class of service policies, here is what we learned…”

Sometimes, the best thing I can do is simply stand there silently, listen and take notes. I get to experience the enthusiasm these folks have and see how committed they are to solve tough technology problems with our software – it makes my job more meaningful. 

So what have I learned?