BladeSystem - General
1752806 Members
6207 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

BL460c g6 - Can't get network connectivity

ndixon54

BL460c g6 - Can't get network connectivity

Hi all, I'm brand new to this kind of server architecture so I apologize if this question is stupid.  I searched the forum for an answer and couldn't find one, but if anybody knows of a thread that might help, I'm happy to read up on that thread too.

Here's my problem.  I recently upgraded from some Proiant DL160 servers to a c7000 enclosure with a few BL460c g6's.  I found the DL160s to be extremely straightforward and was naiive to think that the blade system architecture would be similarly easy to get a grasp on.  I can tell it's powerful, I just haven't been able to maximize it yet due to my inexperience.

The BL460c's in the enclosure can't seem to achieve a network connection.  They appear in the Onboard Administrator and I can see temperature readings, and basic diagnostics, which is great.  But the servers themselves can't seem to connect to the network.  I can't seem get an ILO connection either, due to what I assume is the same problem.  The server appears to be booting up just fine whenever I connect to it using an I/O cable.  Everything seems normal, minus the absence of network connectivity.  I have Cisco Catalyst 3020 Blade Switches in interconnect bays 1 & 2. and I'm running Widows Server 2012 R2.  

I guess my first question is this:  Is the onboard NIC sufficient to connect to the network?  Or do I need to get separate mezzanine cards in order to achieve network connectivity?  

Thanks in advance for your expertise and patience.  -Nick

1 REPLY 1
Jimmy Vance
HPE Pro

Re: BL460c g6 - Can't get network connectivity