BladeSystem - General
1752790 Members
5959 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Can SmartStart be used for Windows 2008R2 Boot From San on a BL460c G7?

Kent Wicker
Occasional Contributor

Can SmartStart be used for Windows 2008R2 Boot From San on a BL460c G7?

Hello,

I am new to HP's but have several other Windows boot from SAN servers so I am not new to the process.

I am using SmartStart 8.70, the latest, to install a Windows 2008R2 server as boot from SAN.  SmartStart sees my LUN, goes through the install process of copying drivers and windows files and then reboots.

Server then boots up to WinPE environment which SmartStart configured.

A command prompt pops up and loads wpeinit, then attempts to load c:\hpssbem.exe but gets a file not found error.

There is no c:\ drive.  There is a d:\ which is the smart start CD and there is an X:\ drive which is the winpe environment.  Diskpart shows no fixed disks which leads me to believe there are no Emulux drivers loaded.  It does boot from the SAN because that is where the WinPE was installed.

Should I be able to do this with SmartStart or am I missing something?

13 REPLIES 13
JTLoser
Occasional Visitor

I am having the same issue.  Did you ever get an answer?

zargarmuneer
Occasional Visitor

I am facing the same issue !

Kent Wicker
Occasional Contributor

That was 6 months ago so I don't remember exactly, but I believe what I did was put the driver on a USB.  I just booted from the Windows DVD and told it to look at the USB for additional disk drivers.  Afterwards I ran the Windows PSP to ensure all drivers are up to date and installed the Insight agents.

Since I had 5 Windows servers to build, I syspreped the first one and used my SAN software to clone the LUN 4 more times and then attached one to each server.

Mohannad_Hamid
Occasional Advisor

Yes it can, i have just tested this, below are the steps to achieve this (I have included detailed instructions for other people to benefit as well):