Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confused about half hight server and c7000 NICS

cybernation
Occasional Visitor

Confused about half hight server and c7000 NICS

Hello All,

Please note i'm a beginner to the blade series servers.

We currently have a c7000 encolsure, 3 half height server, and we have 2 GbE2c switchs.

We are running 2 esx servers, and the problem is, the ESX servers are only seeing 2 nics each. Do i have to purchase something else to give those servers more than 2 nics? I would like to have 3-4 nics avaiable in ESX.

We currently have 2 ethernet cables from the GbE2c switches into our core switches.

I figured that we weren't seeing more nics in esx because we only had 2 cables in our main core, so i plugged in 2 more in our GbE2c and created a network loop.

The blade model is: ProLiant BL465c G5

Thanks...
3 REPLIES
cybernation
Occasional Visitor

Re: Confused about half hight server and c7000 NICS

i forgot to add, we do not have a license for virtual connect..
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

The servers themselves have only 2 embedded nics.

There are a varity of different options you can add to them.

2port NIC mezz card
4port NIC mezz card
1G/10G FlexNet card
Fibre Channel Adaptor
iSCSI hardware initiator

Keep in mind that adding in additional mezz cards will also require additional interconnect's. Your Gbe2's are interconnects. ;o)

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
TTr
Honored Contributor