108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Fault (red) LED on p-Class power enclosure

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mark Matthews
Respected Contributor

Fault (red) LED on p-Class power enclosure

Im not too good with Blade systems and I have a customer with a p-class blade enclosure connected to a 1U power enclosure.
They have recently noticed that the Fault LED is red on the Power enclosure management card.
They are also getting the following errors in Windows event logs and the HP IML.

"Machine Environment: power enclosure overheating (Zone 6, Location power supply, Temp 113C, Enclosure serial number XXXXXXXXXX)"

They seem to have 2 PSUs in the power enclosure (bay 1 and 6) and both have green LEDs.

There is no obvious temp coming out of the PSUs, and the error keeps repairing itself then happening again.

Im not sure if its a faulty PSU or what?

Can anyone help please?

Thanks
Mark...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please click the white Kudos star to the left if this post is helpful :)
8 REPLIES 8
PDarmanin
Frequent Advisor

Hi Mark,

I have same problem here. We replaced the power supply and got same error with the new power supply.

Any one had this problem before?
Any Help

Regards,

Pierre
MrVJTod
Solution

This forum post
http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1060208

References the event log entries
Power enclosure overheating

and there is an Advisory link to a possible fix
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&objectID=c00774329&jumpid=reg_R1002_USEN

for a firmware update
Server Blade and Power Management Module Firmware version 2.32

I've seen both of the errors mentioned in the above article and I hope this will address my problems.
Adrian Clint
Honored Contributor

Mark,

I would suggest as above that you upgrade the blade and power enclosure firmware to the latest.