1751967 Members
4540 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: First Blade Enclosure Purchase

KB17
Occasional Contributor

First Blade Enclosure Purchase

I am looking to purchase our first Blade Enclosure / Blade Servers.
Besides the blade servers and the C7000 enclosure, what are the other items I will have to purchase to get this up and running?
I believe the c7000 does not come with any ethernet connections. So I have to purchase something like this, just to get connectivity.

HP 1Gb Ethernet Pass-Thru Module - expansion module - 16 ports
Product ID
Mfg. Part: 406740-B21
UNSPSC: 43201404

Are there any other items that you don't normally have to worry about when buying a basic Proliant server, that you do have to when moving to Blades?
3 REPLIES 3
Andrew_Read
Frequent Advisor

I'm no expert, so I hope others will fill in the gaps.

We have just purchased a couple of enclosures, so I'll share the decisions points we encountered and our choices (in brackets)

1: Redundant Onboard administrator or not? (yes)

2: Fully populate with Fans and Power Supplies or not. (Yes)

3: Pass-through Ethernet versus Virtual Connect versus blade switch. (Virtual Connect).

4: If you're connecting to Fibre Based storage: Pass-through versus Virtual conenct versus internal switch. (Virtual Connect)

5: Do you need more than two Nic's on a half height, if so, a second set of Pass-through/VC/switchs will be needed.

So far I'm happy with the decisions we've made, but each environment is different.

The virtual connects take a little time to get you're head around, but there is some good documentation available. They reduce the cabling requirements significantly over pass-through.

Regards,

Andrew

KB17
Occasional Contributor

Hey Andrew,
Thanks for the reply.
Those answers helped quite a bit.
Like you said, the virtual connects were a little difficult to understand.